Treat yourself well

I am known for telling my Mom friends to be sure to take time to take care of themselves. Not that it is something only Moms should do!

I bring this up, in part, because of an article I read this morning. Paraphrasing horribly: I read that women have to try harder than men, that they may work all day AND then take care of the home/children. And there are many women that don’t feel fulfilled unless they have both. It goes on to discuss women like me, that never heard their biological clock ticking and never questioned why. There are women that shouldn’t be allowed around children. The article is actually very interesting and I provided a link at the bottom so you can enjoy sans paraphrasing.

I like to think I fall in between. I have no regrets. I think it is a good thing. I took forever to find myself as it was! I can not imagine I would have ever grown up, done any self reflection, or found contentment and self awareness if I’d had a houseful of people, animals and messes to distract me.

But, I’m getting off the original point I wanted to make – although life is good, life is hard. I sincerely believe every woman should make time to do something special for herself. I might even expand this advice to men!

This is what I do, every other week, to treat myself. I get in the car and make the short trip to the next town for a little self love and pampering – on a very tight budget. Yes it can be done. Yes it is okay. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise! It is not selfish. It is not inconsiderate and it is not spoiling yourself. It is a necessity. Taking a break to get a little pampering is like a mini vacation from your day and your reality.

Since I have been unemployed I found that it is an excellent way to make me feel better about myself. Searching for a job and trying to make ends meet on a day-to-day basis is demoralizing and depressing. It is imperative that you do something to help you feel better about yourself. The little pick me up I get from this single hour I do for myself has made a big difference in my attitude and outlook.

Are you curious? Interested? Good! I will post the link to the article below.

Oh, you meant you wanted to know what I’m doing for myself!

What are you imagining?

Let’s consider this. What could you do for yourself every other week that might make you feel rejuvenated, rested, beautiful, refreshed, happy, content, and/or better about yourself? Give yourself a budget of $20. Are you already doing something just for yourself- alone. No kids, hubby, or pets.

There isn’t really a wrong answer! Go out to lunch or dinner alone. Take a magazine- people watch, interact with your server, or not.

How about a matinee? Get bucket of popcorn the way you like it – cause you don’t have to share.

My personal indulgence is a spa facial. I. Know what you’re thinking. No way I can do a facial for $20, let alone a spa facial! Yes, you can. How about a manicure? Pick a procedure. Hit the yellow pages (remember those?) and look under beauty schools. I live in rural area and I have three to choose from. Prices are lower because they have students doing the work. They have a required number of hours they need, for every skill they need to practice. As a former technology trainer/instructor I love that I can help students out this way. A double feel-good situation!

Article: Missing the Mommy Gene – theelephantjournal.com 

Leave a comment